TY Play.



ty-playThe annual TY play for this year is ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austin.

This play is based on five sisters of an English family of landed gentry as they deal with issues of marriage, heartbreak and morality.

A group of Transition year students will be performing on the 30th of November and the 1st of December at 7:30pm in the Assembly Hall. 

Tickets will be sold at break time and lunch time in the Assembly Hall. The ticket prices are as follows:

Student – €5
Adult – €7
Family (2 adults & 2 kids) -€12

This unmissable production is only on for two nights so make sure to buy your tickets as soon as possible before they are sold out!

UCD Visit.

ucdRavikanth Gollapalli wrote an account of the Fifth Year Visit to UCD:

On Tuesday, the 22nd of November, the 5th years in Portmarnock Community School visited UCD. It was a trip organised by Mr. Farrell.

When we arrived at the campus, we were taken to the Gerard Manley Hopkins Centre. This was the main restaurant in UCD. In the restaurant, we were able to experience student life and we were given the opportunity to talk to some of the students currently studying there.

After this, we went to a lecture theatre. Here, we were given a presentation about all of the courses available in UCD. This was a very useful presentation, as I got a better understanding of the requirements needed for the courses I am interested in. Some of the college students also spoke about their course, which made us understand some of the work one would do while in college.

Following the presentation, we were each split up into groups of 10 and appointed a student ambassador, who gave us a tour of the general campus. Our ambassador, Charlie, had a great knowledge of the college and was able to answer any questions we had while on the tour.

Lastly, we were given the opportunity to roam the campus ourselves for an hour. I was able to visit the student centre, and the 50 metre swimming pool. As well as the science, law and engineering buildings.

The experience as a whole was a very beneficial and enjoyable one. I really got a better insight into what it would be like to study in UCD.  

TY Parent Teacher Meeting

Dear Parents/Guardians,

In order to avoid further loss of class contact time this particular term, next Thursday’s 4th Year Parent/Teacher meeting has been cancelled.
4th Year Christmas exam results will be posted to Parents/Guardians by mid December.
The talk for 4th Year Parents/Guardians on Leaving Certificate Options 2017 has been rescheduled for Monday 16 January 2017 at 3pm in the  school Assembly Hall.


Remembrance Treetree

As it’s the month of November – traditionally the month we remember our loved ones who have passed away – our class 1 D have decided to create a remembrance tree which will be placed outside reception. The purpose of the tree is to remember people who have passed away, those who are sick, and anyone who you would like to think of in the lead up to Christmas.

Each tag will cost 50C and all proceeds will go towards the Peter McVerry Trust for homeless shelter in Dublin. Students from the class will go around selling the tags during Tutor class on Monday the 28/11/16


We would like to thank you in advance for your generosity and co-operation.

Portmarnock CS Equestrian Team going from strength to strength.

fullsizerender-2Well done to our Equestrian Team ; Kate Flanagan, Aoife Tuite, Sophie Finnegan and Lauren Upton.
The team have been competing against 15 other secondary schools in Leinster and achieved a podium place in their last show jumping league round. Teams travelled from Dunshaughlin, Trim, and Navan to participate against them and they came fourth.
Good luck in your remaining competitions girls. See the photos on the left for images of the team in action.

24 Hour Mapathon

The class 2M and Global Citizens Mapping the Future are hosting a 24 Hour Mapathon on Friday the 18th of November, from 9am on Friday to 9am Saturday! The event will be 2M’s CSPE Action Project for their Junior Cert! The information is gathered during the Mapathon will also be used by the 2 teams entered into the BT Young Scientists. A number of celebrities will attend the event between 7pm and 8pm.

Registration for the event will cost €5 and a further minimum of €20 is asked to be raised to participate. All proceeds will go towards the construction of an Early Childhood Development Centre in Lesotho.
The event will be supervised by Ms. Cronin and Mr. Fitzgerald. We ask all interested to take a form from the school.
Social Media : Follow our progress with all of these social media platforms:
Snapchat: gcmapfuture
Facebook: globalcitizensmappingthefuture
Twitter: globalcitMTF
Instagram: globalcitizensmappingthefuture

Thank You!

Inline images 1

Concern Debate.

On Tuesday 25th of October, the debating team travelled to St. Fintan’s in Sutton for a debate. The motion was ‘France should allow the wearing of religious symbols in public areas’. We had to oppose the motion. The team captain was Cormac Donnelly. Also on the team were Robert Richmond, Aoibhe Dillon and Ailbhe Quearney. Florence Okojie and Matthew Walton came as support. The debate was organised by Ms. Bradley and Mr. Cogavin.

It was a very passionate debate, with great arguments from both sides. However, in the end, the adjudicators declared a win for St. Fintan’s. It was many student’s first debate so we performed well considering and we have learned a lot for our next debate!