Guidance & Counselling

Portmarnock Community School Guidance & Counselling Service

 Welcome to the Guidance & Counselling section of the website.

 What is Guidance?

Guidance refers to a range of services and activities intended to assist students to make educational, training and occupational choices and to manage their careers. The activities may take place on an individual or group basis. They include:

  • career information provision (in print, ICT-based and other forms),
  • assessment and self-assessment tools,
  • vocational counselling interviews,
  • career education programmes (to help individuals develop their self awareness, opportunity awareness, and career management skills),
  • work search programmes,
  • transition services

What is Counselling?

Counselling is offered on a one to one basis and is generally short-term in nature. The Service operates on an appointment basis however priority will be given in the event of an emergency. During the course of ones school days many issues and concerns may present for students. Counselling offers the opportunity to discuss in private any such issues or concerns which impact on academic performance or personal well-being.  It is not necessary to know exactly what the difficulty is in order to access the Service. A general feeling that all is not well is often enough to initially seek help. Deciding to speak with a Guidance Counsellor can be a positive step towards making life better for the individual. Self-referral to the Service is welcomed and encouraged.

 

Confidentiality Policy

 

The Guidance & Counselling Service is a professional counselling service, which abides by a strict code of ethics and confidentiality policy as outlined by the Institute of Guidance Counsellors. A persistent link to this code can be foundhere.

Confidentiality is a central and integral part of the counselling process and is assured to each student who avails of the Counselling Service.  It offers safety and privacy to those who choose to discuss personal and private concerns. Information given during the counselling session is held in strict confidence. No information written or verbal will be disclosed to a third party without the student’s permission. The issue of confidentiality is always discussed with students during the first session. This provides the opportunity to clarify any concerns that may arise. Counselling Service files are not attached to any academic records held within the school.

Limits to Confidentiality

In exceptional circumstances Guidance Counsellors may need to break confidentiality if they believe there is a real intent of serious harm or danger to either their student or another individual. Such circumstances may pertain to issues relating to sexual abuse, rape, self-harm, suicidal ideation or criminal activity. In as far as is possible, in such cases, a full explanation will be given regarding the necessary procedures that may need to be taken.

Useful Contacts

The Disability Access Route to Education Document (2012 entry) and The Higher Education Access Route to Education Document (2012 entry) are both available here.

Universities

University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4 www.ucd.ie
University College Cork, Cork www.ucc.ie
National University of Ireland, Galway www.nuigalway.ie
National University of Ireland, Maynooth www.nuim.ie
University of Limerick, Limerick www.ul.ie
Trinity College, Dublin www.tcd.ie
Dublin City University www.dcu.ie
National University of Ireland Recognised Colleges

 

Institute of Public Administration www.ipa.ie
Milltown Institute of Theology & Philosophy www.milltown-institute.ie
National College of Art and Design www.ncad.ie
Royal College of Surgeons Ireland www.rcsi.ie
Shannon College of Hotel Management www.shannoncollege.com
Institutes Of Technology

Dublin Institute of Technology www.dit.ie
Athlone Institute of Technology www.ait.ie
Cork Institute of Technology www.cit.ie
Dundalk Institute of Technology www.dkit.ie
Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology www.iadt.ie
Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology www.gmit.ie
Institute of Technology, Blanchardstown www.itb.ie
Institute of Technology, Carlow www.itcarlow.ie
Institute of Technology, Sligo www.itsligo.ie
Institute of Technology, Tallaght www.it-tallaght.ie
Institute of Technology, Tralee www.ittralee.ie
Letterkenny Institute of Technology www.lyit.ie
Limerick Institute of Technology www.lit.ie
Waterford Institute of Technology www.wit.ie
Colleges of Education

The Church of Ireland College of Education www.cice.ie
Froebel College of Education www.froebel.ie
Coláiste Mhuire, Marino Institute of Education www.mie.ie
St. Angela’s College www.stacs.edu.ie
St. Patrick’s College of Education www.spd.dcu.ie
Mary Immaculate College www.mic.ul.ie
Mater Dei Institute www.materdei.ie
Other State-Aided Institutions

National College of Ireland www.ncirl.ie
All Hallows College www.allhallows.ie
Garda College www.garda.ie
Military College www.military.ie
Tipperary Institute www.tippinst.ie
Pontifical University of Maynooth www.maynoothcollege.ie
St Patrick’s, Carlow College www.carlowcollege.ie
Royal Irish Academy of Music www.riam.ie
Other Institutions

Honorable Society of Kings Inn www.kingsinns.ie
Law Society of Ireland www.lawsociety.ie

Other Institutions, some, at least, of whose programmes are validated by the Higher Education Training and Awards Council are listed below

Academy of Medical Laboratory Science www.amls.ie
American College Dublin www.amcd.ie
Burren College of Art www.burrencollege.ie
Development Studies Centre, Kimmage www.dsckim.ie
Dorset College www.dorset-college.ie
Dublin Business School www.dbs.edu
Failte Ireland www.failteireland.ie
FISC Ireland Ltd. www.fiscireland.ie
Grafton College of Management Sciences, 7 Gardiner Row, Dublin 1 www.graftoncollege.ie
Griffith College Dublin www.gcd.ie
Hibernia College www.hiberniacollege.net
H.S.I. Limerick Business School www.hsi.ie
ICD Business School, BPP House, 5 Lad Lane, Dublin 2 www.icd.ie
Institute of Business and Technology, Swords www.ibat.ie
Irish Academy of Public Relations www.irishacademy.com
Irish Management Institute www.imi.ie
Leinster Academy, Leinster Rugby IRFU www.leinsterrugby.ie
Munster Academy, Munster Rugby IRFU www.munsterrugby.ie
National Counselling Institute of Ireland www.ncii.ie
New Media Technology College www.nmtc.ie
Newpark Music Centre www.newparkmusic.com
Portobello College Dublin www.portobello.ie
St. Nicholas Montessori College Ireland www.snmci.ie
St. Patrick’s College www.stpats.ie
The Open Training College www.opentrainingcollege.com
Thomas Crosbie Holdings Ltd www.tch.ie

Colleges of Further Education

Ballsbridge College of Further Education http://www.ballsbridgecollege.com/
Ballyfermot College of Further Education http://www.bcfe.ie/
Colaiste Dhulaigh http://www.colaistedhulaigh.ie/
Dundrum College of Further Education http://www.cfedundrum.com/front/
Crumlin College of Further Education http://www.crumlincollege.ie/
Dun Laoire College of Further Education http://www.dlcfe.ie/
Grange Community College http://www.iol.ie/~grangecc/
Greenhills College of Further Education http://www.greenhills-college.com/
Inchicore College of Further Education http://www.inchicorecollege.ie/index.htm
Killester College of Further Education http://www.killestercollege.ie/
Kylemore College of Further Education http://www.kylemorecollege.ie/
Pearse College of Further Education www.pearsecollege.ie
Plunket College of Further Education http://www.plunketcollege.ie/
Rathmines College of Further Education http://www.rathminescollege.ie/index.php
Ringsend College of Further Education http://www.ringtec.ie
Sallynoggin College of Further Education http://www.scs.dife.ie/
Senior College Dun Laoire http://www.scd.ie/
St Tiernan’s Community School http://www.sttiernans.ie/
St Kevin’s College http://www.stkevinscollege.ie/
Stillorgan College of Further Education http://www.stillorgancollege.ie/
Whitehall College of Further Education http://www.whitehallcollege.com/home/